Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The politics of COVID-19 and vaccination under Israeli occupation

January 28 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Jan. 28, Thursday at 12 noon ET/ 11 a.m. CT/ 9 a.m. PT

Join AFSC for our webinar “The politics of COVID-19 and vaccination under Israeli occupation,” featuring special guests Dr. Mustafa Barghouti, Dr. Yara Asi, and Dr. Mona El-Farra and facilitated by AFSC’s Jehad Abusalim. 

With vaccination programs rolling out globally, there is finally hope that the COVID-19 pandemic may be approaching an end. Israel’s inoculation program is moving forward quickly for Israeli citizens and has received much attention, but Palestinians living under Israeli control in the West Bank and Gaza are being left behind.   

A Palestinian inoculation campaign is desperately needed but cannot happen without Israeli action. However, Israel has indicated that it has no intention of facilitating a vaccination campaign in Gaza and the West Bank.

Our webinar will provide you with information on the current situation in Palestine and what you can do to help bring change. Panelists will include: 

  • Dr. Mustafa Barghouti, a physician, member of the Palestinian parliament, and president of the Palestinian Medical Relief Society. He was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize in 2010. 
  • Dr. Yara Asi is a lecturer at the University of Central Florida, a Fulbright U.S. scholar for 2020 -21, and an Al-Shabaka policy member.  
  • Dr. Mona El-Farra, director of Gaza Projects of the Middle East Children’s Alliance (MECA), vice president of the Palestinian Red Crescent Society of the Gaza Strip, and member of the Union of Health Work Committees. 

We hope you can join us. https://www.afsc.org/action/politics-covid-19-and-vaccination-under-israeli-occupation

Details

Date:
January 28
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm