<!– #yiv1799559882 #yiv400375318 filtered #yiv400375318 {font-family:”Cambria Math”;panose-1:2 4 5 3 5 4 6 3 2 4;} #yiv1799559882 #yiv400375318 #yiv400375318 p.MsoNormal, #yiv1799559882 #yiv400375318 li.MsoNormal, #yiv1799559882 #yiv400375318 div.MsoNormal {margin:0in;margin-bottom:.0001pt;font-size:12.0pt;font-family:”serif”;} #yiv1799559882 #yiv400375318 .MsoChpDefault {font-size:10.0pt;} #yiv1799559882 filtered #yiv400375318 {margin:.6in .7in .6in .7in;} #yiv1799559882 #yiv400375318 div.WordSection1 {} –>



JULY 23-25, 2010   ALBANY , NEW YORK


Friday night, July 23   7:00 p.m.—10 p.m.


7:00     Call to orderJoe Lombardo, Bethlehem Neighbors for Peace


7:05    Welcoming RemarksMike Keenan, President, Troy Area Labor Council, AFL-CIO

            Chair: Mary Nichols-Rhodes, Progressive Democrats of America


7:10     Overview of the conferenceJerry Gordon, Secretary, United National Antiwar

            Conference (UNAC)


7:20     Questions about the overview


7:40    Panel discussion on “Strategies and Tactics in the Struggle to End the Empire’s Wars and Occupations.”



     Medea Benjamin, CODE PINK

     Michael Eisenscher, National Coordinator, U.S. Labor Against the War

     Glen Ford, Black Agenda Report

     Chris Gauvreau, Administrative Body, National Assembly to End U.S. Wars and


     Theresa Gutierrez, International Action Center

     Kathy Kelly, Creative Voices for Nonviolence

     Nada Khader, Palestinian-American and Executive Director of the WESPAC

            ( Westchester Peace Action Coalition) Foundation

     Kevin Martin, Executive Director, Peace Action

Michael McPhearson, United for Peace and Justice Co-Chair; Veterans for


       Blanca Missé, Graduate Student, UC at Berkeley ; played leading role in March 4

            student protests

     David Swanson, (formerly

     Deborah Sweet, National Director, World Can’t Wait


9:00     Presentation of Co-Sponsors’ Action ProposalMary Nichols-Rhodes


9:10     Presentations by attendees of proposals to amend the action proposal, additional

            demands for mobilizations, resolutions


10:00  Adjourn




(Caucuses can meet at this time.  See schedule at the conference.)



Saturday morning, July 24 8:30 a.m. – 12 noon


8:30     Call to orderGreg Coleridge, Director, Northeast Ohio American Friends

                   Service Committee; Coordinator, Northeast Ohio Antiwar Coalition

8:35     Welcoming Remarks Maud Easter, Women Against War

8:40     Keynote addresses:

       Noam Chomsky, internationally renowned political activist, author, and critic of U.S. foreign and domestic policies; Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Professor Emeritus of Linguistics

Donna Dewitt, President, South Carolina AFL- CIO; Co-Chair, South Carolina Progressive Network

9:15     Adoption of Rules and ProceduresJerry Gordon

9:30     Election of presiding committee

9:45     Dedication of Kent State and Jackson State Memorial Antiwar Mural

10:00  Break

10:15  Workshops I

11:45  Break

12:00  Lunch; Speakers: How Political Prisoners and Victims of Preemptive Prosecution are Used to Justify War and Repression


Saturday afternoon, July 24 1:00 pm – 6:00 pm


1:00     Call to Order. Co-Chairs: Michael McPhearson, Co-Chair, United for Peace and

            Justice, formerly, Executive Director, Veterans for Peace; Jeff Mackler, National

            Co-Coordinator, National Assembly to End U.S. Wars and Occupations

1:05     Plenary Session to discuss and debate Co-Sponsors’ action proposal, amendments,

                   additional demands, and resolutions. Vote on amendments.

4:15     Break

4:30     Workshops II

6:00     Dinner (on your own)


Saturday night, July 24 7:30 pm – 10:00 pm


Public Program with Speakers and Cultural Presentations (see program)


Sunday morning, July 25 8:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.


8:30     Call to Order. Co-Chairs: Kathy Black, Co-Convenor, U.S. Labor Against the War;

            President, Philadelphia Coalition of Labor Union Women; AFSCME District Council 47;

            Jim Lafferty, Executive Director, National Lawyers Guild, Los Angeles Chapter

8:35     Plenary Session.  Final Discussion, Debate and Vote on Demands. Final vote on action

                                                                                                                                  proposal, which then becomes the conference’s action program. Final discussion,

                                                                                                                                  debate and vote on resolutions.

11:00  Decision on future of UNAC

11:15  Summary RemarksJerry Gordon

11:20  Break


11:30  Workshops III



Muslim Solidarity Committee & Project SALAM Cordially Invite You to:
Rally and March
In Support of
Muslims Targeted by
Preemptive Prosecution
Sunday, July 25, 2010
Meet at the east steps of the Capitol, Washington & State Streets at 1:00 PM
March to Masjid As-Salam, 278 Central Ave., Albany

The Muslim Solidarity Committee and Project SALAM (Support And Legal Advocacy for Muslims) invite you to join us for this rally and march remembering the sixth anniversary of the arrests of two Muslim men from the Albany community and all Muslims preemptively prosecuted by the US government.  Speakers at the Mosque will discuss these cases and how they are used to generate fear of Islam in order to justify war and oppression.  Information about these cases can be found at <> .

The Rally will begin at the closing of the National Peace Conference to be held in Albany, July 23-25.  We hope that you will attend this important Peace Conference.  For more information, see <> ..

Schedule of Events
• 1:00 P.M. Rally at the NYS Capitol, East Steps, corner of Washington Ave & State St.
Light refreshments (food & drink) will be available.
• 1:30 March to Masjid As-Salam, 278 Central Ave., Albany
• 2:00 Arrive at Masjid As-Salam • 2:00 Pizza lunch and speakers

For more information, contact Lynne Jackson at 518-434-6659 or [email protected]

Aref & Hossain • Fort Dix 5 • Newburgh 4 • Betim Kaziu • Ziyad Yaghi • Dr. Rafil Dhafir • Fahad Hashmi •  Tarek Mehanna • Tariq Shah  • & Many More